Audio gear. Music. Tech & News.

*New- system remote controls

Hi everyone-

We have resisted adding 'learning remotes' to our line card. Quite frankly as a category they are hard to set up, program and reliability has been average at best.  I only sell and install products that I know are reliable and high performance so our customers don't have issues.

I've changed my mind. We have added the Harmony remotes to our product family.  They continued to ask us to carry their products and after a number of clients asked me if we offer such a product I decided to try Harmony.  I bought one to use at home and I have to say they are very cool!  I programmed it to control our audio/video system at home and it has been very reliable.  The Harmony comes with it's own remote and 'hub', which connects to your wifi router.  The really cool feature is that once you purchase and we program the system we can join the Harmony app on your smartphone or tablet to allow system control from anywhere in the home.  You don't need to be in the actual room to control your A/V system. Example- you've gone to bed and it dawns on you that you left your audio/video system on downstairs. Pick up your smartphone from the comfort of your bed and turn the system off with one 'button' push.  Very cool!

The Harmony remote will also control 'scenes'. One selection will turn on your TV to the desired input, turn on your Blu-ray player, turn on your home theater receiver and switch each device to the proper input. No more multiple remotes laying on your end table. For Sonos users some Sonos features may also be controlled from the Harmony remote.

There are various remotes and options available depending on how many devices you wish to control.

*The SmartHome remote series also allows control of Nest thermostats, Phillips Hue lighting and some window shade brands.  We can also supply you with Nest and Phillips Hue products.

Give me a call or send me an email if you'd like more information.

Thanks!

Doug