Audio gear. Music. Tech & News.

Listening: 2010 A Music Odyssey

It's interesting to look back and review what I was listening to ten years ago. Below I have reposted the Hear & Now column published in the January 5 Rockford Register Star newspaper. While I enjoy many other styles and artists ten years later I still listen to these personal gems. 

In addition to the music that I listen to now the way in which I listen has also changed. I listen much more frequently on my two channel stereo system. I also listen to my iTunes library while on the Mac computer. We also now have a full house Sonos system so we can enjoy music in all the rooms of the house. And, in addition to listening to CDs and iTunes as I did in my column ten years ago I also now stream music using high quality services such as Deezer. I store our CD collection on a 2TB hard drive, listen to vinyl on a new turntable from UTurn Audio and even listen to music via YouTube. So many choices. 

All of these choices plus my renewed interest in my two channel stereo in my dedicated music room has enhanced my interest in listening to music and the fun of discovering new music and artists.

Have a read below. I'll have to post my top 10 most listened to from 2020 next January for comparison.

Doug Campbell 

*

*

Hear & Now

January 5, 2011

Most Listened To Albums of 2010

This isn’t a ‘Best Albums of 2010’ list. Instead of listing what I think are the best albums of last year, I thought I would share the albums that I listened to most frequently throughout 2010, regardless of release date. In no particular order...

Margo Timmins – The Ty Tyrfu Sessions.  Why this isn't released as a quality download or on CD and vinyl is beyond me. http://www.jeffbird.com/margotytyrfu.html9.

Mark Knopfler – Screenplaying.  Known as both a solo artist and with Dire Straits, Knopfler is also an accomplished movie soundtrack musician.

Madonna – Confessions On A Dance Floor.  My guilty pleasure.  Great disc for running on the treadmill.

Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass – Lost Treasures. An early influence on me. Lost Treasures proves he could have released even more great albums back in their heyday.

The Fireman – Strawberrys Oceans Ships Forest. The cute Beatle and artist Youth remain inventive and experimental together.

Thomas Crown Affair soundtrack – Bill Conti’s soundtrack of this classic movie remake is every bit as enjoyable as the movie itself.

Cheap Trick – The Latest.  As I said in my original RRS review, the band just keeps getting better.  Stay away if you don’t like to rock.

Bourne Supremacy soundtrack – Movie soundtrack by John Powell is every bit as powerful as the movie itself.

The Raveonettes - In And Out Of Control.  Guitar twang and noise along with this duo’s harmonies make this a fun, noisy rocker.

The Orb and David Gilmour Metallic Spheres.  Moody, eclectic and mellow.  Perfect for that snowy Saturday at home.

I enjoy music while on the computer, on my iPod and on the CD player.  Regardless of how you listen to your music try out a few of the albums listed above.  Enjoy!